{{notification.title}}

{{notification.message}} {{notification.action}}

1ST XV RUGBY MOVING TO SKY SPORT CHANNELS

Back

1ST XV RUGBY MOVING TO SKY SPORT CHANNELS

1ST XV RUGBY MOVING TO SKY SPORT CHANNELS

First XV Generic

LAND ROVER 1ST XV RUGBY MOVING TO SKY SPORT CHANNELS

Great news for rugby fans. Sky will this year broadcast its Land Rover 1st XV rugby season on Sky Sport, moving from the Rugby Channel and therefore making the games accessible to all Sky Sport subscribers.

Rugby fans will be able to watch the stars of tomorrow compete in some of New Zealand rugby’s greatest college rivalries on the home of sport, Sky Sport. 

The 2019 Land Rover 1st XV rugby season is looking to be bigger than ever with Sky Sport covering 33 Land Rover 1st XV rugby matches LIVE plus a further four matches featuring New Zealand Schools and NZ Barbarian Schools. 

Sky will be showcasing school matches from all over New Zealand, including Invercargill, Christchurch, Queenstown, Wellington, Timaru, Palmerston North, Rotorua, Hastings, Hamilton and Auckland.  

2019 marks 10 years of SKY broadcasting and supporting New Zealand 1st XV rugby.

During this period, Sky has produced 311 live 1st XV matches, providing coverage for 90 different schools from all over New Zealand. From traditional rugby school rivalries to long standing provincial derby matches, the Sky crew bring their world class rugby knowledge and production expertise to the side-lines of school matches up and down the country.

SKY Director of Sport, Tex Teixeira says: "We’re exceptionally proud to reach this 10 year milestone supporting and broadcasting New Zealand 1st XV Rugby.

"And moving the matches to Sky Sport channels this year means that more kiwi sport fans will watch these talented young players, some of whom will be future All Blacks, battle it out on local rugby fields up and down New Zealand. 

"Our crew love getting around the country and showcasing the best of kiwi sport, and we can’t wait for the Land Rover 1st XV Rugby season to kick-off on Sky Sport.”

Since 2016 Sky has also sent camera crews to other significant college matches around the country to create highlights packages for its dedicated college rugby programme, “Land Rover 1st XV Revision”.

The show features the top results, highlights and stories from schools around New Zealand and will be broadcast every Thursday from May 9 this year on SKY Sport.

Sky has broadcast the New Zealand Schools vs Australian Schoolboys match at the end of the season every year since 2010, and will do so again this year. 

Sky also supports the New Zealand Schools Rugby Sevens tournament every year by filming and producing the Condor Sevens tournament, which features over 100 teams participating from schools all over New Zealand.

The 2019  1st XV Rugby SKY Sport broadcast schedule is as follows:
 
Sat May 4: Takapuna Grammar v Massey High School - 12.00pm; Takapuna Grammar  
Wed May 8: New Plymouth Boys v Francis Douglas - 12.30pm; New Plymouth Boys  
Sat May 11: Rangitoto College v Takapuna Grammar - 12.00pm; Rangitoto College
Sat May 18: St John's College (Hastings) v St John's College (Hamilton) - 12.30pm; St John's College (Hastings)
Wed May 22: Southland Boys v Otago Boys - 1.00pm; Southland Boys 
Sat May 25: King's College v St Kentigern College - 2.30pm; King's College
Thurs May 30: Christchurch Boys v Christ's College - 2.30pm; Christchurch Boys 
Sat June 1: Westake Boys v Rosmini College - 12.00pm; Westake Boys
Thurs June 6: Rotorua Boys v Tauranga Boys - 12.30pm; Rotorua Boys
Sat June 8: Wesley College v Rathkeale College - 2.30pm; Wesley College
Mon June 10: Timaru Boys v St Andrew's College - 12.00pm; Timaru Boys
Sat June 15: Napier Boys v Hastings Boys - 12.00pm; Napier Boys
Sat June 22; Hamilton Boys v Rotorua Boys - 2.30pm; Hamilton Boys
Sat June 29: King's College v St Peter's College - 1.00pm; King's College
Sat July 6: St Paul's Collegiate v St Peter's School Cambridge - 1.00pm; St Paul's Collegiate
Sat July 20: Wakatipu High v Dunstan High - 12.30pm; Wakatipu High
Wed july 24: St Pat's Silverstream v St Pat's College - 12.30pm; St Pat's Silverstream
Sat July 27: St Bede's College v Shirley Boys - 2.30pm; St Bede's College
Wed July 31; Palmerston North Boys v Napier Boys - 12.30pm; Palmerston North Boys
Sat Aug 3: Christchurch Boys v Rangiora High School - 2.30pm; Christchurch Boys 
 
Sat Aug 10: Finals TBC
Fri Aug 16: Nth Harbour Girls and Boys FINAL - TBC; Harbour Stadium
Sun Aug 18: Wellington Prem 1A Final; TBC - Jerry Collins Stadium
Sat Aug 24: AKL 1A Final - Eden Park
Sat Aug 24: UC Championship Final - 2.30pm; Canterbury
 
Sat Aug 31: TOP Regional Final
Fri Sept 6: National TOP 4 Semi - 1.00pm; Semi 2 - 2.45pm; Palmerston North
Sun Sept 8: National Top 4 Finals 10-2pm; Palmertson North
 
Mon Sept 30: New Zealand Schools v Fiji Schools; Hamilton
NZ Barbarian Schools v Australian U18 Schools; Hamilton
Fri Oct 4; NZ Barbarian Schools v Fiji Schools; Hamilton
New Zealand Schools v Fiji Schools; Hamilton
 
DUE TO THE NATURE OF LIVE SPORT, THESE LISTINGS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTIFICATION. PLEASE CHECK YOUR ELECTRONIC PROGRAMME GUIDE (EPG) FOR THE LATEST CHANNEL LISTINGS