Sky confirms Rugby World Cup 2023 expert team across Sky Sport, Sky Sport Now and Sky Open
[#if ContentImage??]
    [#if ContentImage?is_hash]
        [#if ContentImage.alt??]

Sky is pleased to announce a top-class broadcast lineup for its extensive coverage of Rugby World Cup 2023 across Sky Sport, Sky Sport Now and Sky Open. 


The Rugby World Cup 2023 is set to kick-off in just under three weeks, with the All Blacks opening the tournament against hosts France on September 9 in what is expected to be one of the most competitive World Cups in history.


As an official broadcaster of Rugby World Cup 2023, all 48 matches will be live on Sky Sport 1, and available to stream on Sky Sport Now.


Leading Sky’s coverage of the tournament will be Kirstie Stanway, Jeff Wilson, Mils Muliaina and Grant Nisbett, and they will be joined on the ground in France by Sir John Kirwan.


Nisbett, a vastly experienced broadcaster, will head Sky’s commentary for every All Blacks match at what will be his sixth Rugby World Cup.


Muliaina, an All Blacks centurion and 2011 Rugby World Cup champion, will join Nisbett in the commentary box, while Wilson, who played at two Rugby World Cups in 1995 and 1999, will act as a sideline commentator.


Stanway, attending her second Rugby World Cup with Sky, will anchor the France-based crew’s live coverage of All Blacks matches alongside Kirwan, a key member of New Zealand’s 1987 Rugby World Cup-winning side.


Further coverage will be provided by Sky’s Kiwi-based crew, led by Laura McGoldrick, 2011 Rugby World Cup winner Israel Dagg and former Black Ferns star Honey Hireme-Smiler.


The in-studio team will provide wrap-around coverage for All Blacks tests, and will feature live crosses with Kristina Eddy and Joe Wheeler, both of whom will be based at fan zones across France and New Zealand, respectively.


Viewers will also have the option to watch All Blacks matches with Te Reo Māori commentary live on Sky Sport 2.


Te Aorere Pēwhairangi (Ngāti Porou) and Tūmamao Harawira (Ngāpuhi and Te Whānau-ā-Apanui) return to Sky’s screens to deliver Te Reo Māori commentary for All Blacks matches throughout Rugby World Cup 2023 after previously commentating in Te Reo Māori for Sky, including last year’s Bledisloe Cup clash between the All Blacks and Australia in Melbourne.


Providing the option to watch Rugby World Cup 2023 in Te Reo Māori is a continuation of Sky’s long history in delivering Te Reo Māori commentary across various codes since 2008, and coincides with Te Wiki o te Reo Māori (Māori Language Week) between 11-17 September, as well as Mahuru Māori (Māori language speaking month) from 15 September.


Select Rugby World Cup 2023 matches will be available to watch free-to-air on Sky Open, which replaces Prime on Sky channel 4 and Freeview channel 15, as well as Prime+1 on Sky channel 514, from 6am on Wednesday, 23 August.


Sky Open will broadcast 12 Rugby World Cup 2023 matches, including coverage of every All Blacks pool match and live coverage of the Final.


Sky Open will also have live coverage of two Quarterfinals, one Semi-Final and the Bronze Final, as well as delayed coverage of two Quarterfinals and one Semi-Final.


An hour-long highlights show will also air on Sky Open every match day, with Sky’s France-based crew recapping all the day’s action and key talking points from 4:30pm.


Sky’s team on the ground in France will also produce Breakdown each week, which will air on Sky Sport every Tuesday evening as part of Sky’s wide range of Rugby World Cup programming throughout the tournament.


This includes regular shows such as the Aotearoa Rugby Pod and Crowd Goes Wild, which will feature live crosses to members of the France-based team, as well as new shows Rugby World Cup on Island and Lost in France.


A full list of Sky Open’s live and delayed Rugby World Cup 2023 matches is available below:


Six live matches:

  • All Blacks v France: From 6:45am, Saturday 9 September

  • Quarterfinal 2 (Winner Pool B v Runner-Up Pool A): From 7:30am, Sunday 15 October

  • Quarterfinal 4 (Winner Pool A v Runner-Up Pool B): From 7:30am, Monday 16 October

  • Semi-Final 1 (Winner QF1 v Winner QF2): From 7:30am, Saturday 21 October

  • Bronze Final: From 7:30am, Saturday 28 October

  • Final: From 7:30am, Sunday 29 October

Six delayed matches:

  • All Blacks v Namibia: From 8:30am, Saturday 16 September

  • All Blacks v Italy: From 9:30am, Saturday 30 September

  • All Blacks v Uruguay: From 9:30am, Friday 6 October

  • Quarterfinal 1 (Winner Pool C v Runner-Up Pool D): From 5:30am, Sunday 15 October

  • Quarterfinal 3 (Winner Pool D v Runner-Up Pool C): From 5:30am, Monday 16 October

  • Semi-Final 2 (Winner QF3 v Winner QF4): From 9:30am, Sunday 22 October